Six Things You May or May Not Know About Me

After having read a blog in which the writer had compiled a list of Ten Interesting Things about himself, I was inspired to try my hand at a similar exercise. Coincidentally that blogger (http://20four12.wordpress.com/) and I have some things in common so in a few instances I have used a similar format to fill in with what applies to me. For  now,  I ve only managed to come up with six things you may or may not know about me. I can complete the list later but for now, here goes.

I don’t have a college degree

I started working as a trainee reporter soon after my schooling and got hooked onto my work and hence further studies took a back seat. At that age I had little appreciation for the merits of earning a degree and despite my father taking the trouble to enroll me for a university course I neglected to follow it. Many years down the line I regret I did not follow his advice but at least now I have realized the importance of pursuing one’s education beyond schooling. This is why I keep drumming into the heads of my two sons that they have to finish with their university   education however appealing the prospect of gaining employment and earning at a young age is. As for me all is not lost. I’ve managed to complete a Post-Graduate Diploma recently having qualified to follow it due to my many years of work experience.  Thus I have also qualified to do a Master’s degree.  Father is no more but I am sure what little I have achieved will make him very proud.  By the way my graduation is next Tuesday (July 31, 2012).  I’ll finally get a wear a cloak and snap a photograph in it. PhD next? I don’t think so. Masters will do.

I am obsessed with books

I can’t recollect exactly how I caught the reading bug but what I remember is that from a very young age, I would curl up some place with a book in hand. It started with fairy tales, and then moved onto Enid Blyton’s and such similar books. Then for a short period of being engrossed in Mills & Boons romances, I moved onto reading Sydney Sheldon and Harold Robbins. (It was a time when books like “The Other Side of Midnight” and “The Carpetbaggers “were the closest one could get to reading an erotic novel.) My reading   repertoire has expanded a great deal between then and now. I cannot say I like a particular genre of books because I read fiction, nonfiction, classics and modern stories, short stories and even poems. I guess I can call myself a mature reader and one thing I do now , which I did not do before  , is , I  attach a lot of interest to the authors and try to learn about them as much as possible. I also try to read books by authors from all over the world so I can learn about different people and their ways. Right now I have books pretty much strew in all kinds of places in the house. What I aim to do one day is build a reading room cum library and open it up to other book lovers as well. It’s going to be a cozy “no fuss ‘place where people can come and read and also discuss books. Fingers crossed for this one.

I am a Maggie noodles mom

Why do I call myself a Maggie Noodles Mom? When my younger son was around 8 (I think) someone asked him what his mom cooks for him to which he replied, “My mother only knows how to make Maggie noodles.”Of course his reply ruined my reputation as a mother, who, instead of putting nutritious and wholesome food on the table for her children, was feeding them instant food. The truth is I cook very little. Thankfully the children have two grandmothers nearby who feed them well, not with instant food, but good home cooked food. I had dreamt of having the perfect family dinners before I got married and had kids but now I find it next to impossible to get the four of us around a dinner table.

 I have a tattoo

 Not many people know I have a tattoo on my back, just below  my left shoulder-blade,  I got it done few years ago, I am not sure why. I think it was mid-life crisis time and an example of another of the crazy impulsive things I do from time to time. The tattoo is supposed to depict that the “pen is mightier than the sword “and being a journalist, I still   hold onto such idealistic views, well knowing it’s not swords that we have to deal with these day but automatic guns. There isn’t much power a pen can yield next to an AK- 47. The pen too has lost its might to a great extent with the advent of the keyboard .Anyway there are times I wish I hadn’t got myself inked but the tattoo I here to stay so I rarely think about it. Out of sight is out of mind, in this case.

I love stationary

 Other than book shops, another place I can spend a lot of time in are stationary shops. I love to see all the coloured pencils, note books, erasers, pencil boxes and all kinds of knick knacks that are stored in these shops. Which also means I end up buying a lot of stationary which I don’t always need. I ve bought all kinds of notebooks because they have such pretty covers but I rarely write on them. The same goes for pens and pencils but most times when I am in a hurry and want a pencil or pen, I can’t find one.

 I lost my wedding ring

A few years ago, a burglar broke into our house while we slept and took away among other things my wedding ring which was lying on a table. I was rather upset about it at that time but while the ring has a lot of sentimental value, wearing a wedding band is just symbolic and does not necessarily mean everything is honky dory in a marriage.  (That’s the older, wiser me saying it. I was rather obsessed with the ring when it was shiny and new and was thrilled when people noticed I had a wedding band.). Anyway I got myself   another similar ring but I hardly wear it these days. This is in sharp contrast to my better half who doesn’t leave home without his wedding ring.

Published by

Chandani

.............

One thought on “Six Things You May or May Not Know About Me”

  1. Without being too patronising or too critical:
    Some of the stuff here is rather typical of women of a certain age! I think the last bit sums it up. I hope that you realise that you are, and always were, a Daddy’s Little Girl and you are now heading for a divorce!
    ps Get this stuff on the Sunday Times! There is too much rubbish in your newspaper!

Leave a Reply

