My take on a 100-yr-old Marathoner’s words of wisdom………..

“The secret to a long and healthy life is to be stress-free. Be grateful for everything you have, stay away from people who are negative, stay smiling and keep running.”–Fauja Singh, 100-yr-old Marathoner    

I was reading this article about the 100-year-old marathoner and realized that his words of advice are spot on. Most of the time we make ourselves unhappy by our own actions. I know the times I have been unhappy it was because I chose to be unhappy by attaching too much importance to things that are unimportant, because I dwelled too much on other people’s actions and what impact it would have on me not realizing  that eventually “I am my own master “and only I am responsible for my actions and consequences that follow.

Fauja Singh, 100-yr-old Marathoner says “Be grateful for everything you have”.

This is so important because most times I realize people are unhappy because they are always trying to get something others have not realizing they have more than others.  It may not be always in a material sense but in the kindness of people who are in our lives, the little successes and joy that come our way and everyday wonders that life offers us.  I often look at the palatial houses people build and wonder if those who live in them are happier than those who live in a smaller place. For me more material   acquisitions mean more burdens to carry. The more doors and windows you have to lock up in a house, the more troublesome it is.  If I had it my way, (Not possible right now cos there are other family members to consider), I’ll be living in s single room place   with the bare necessities. It’s so much easier to just turn one key and take off without wondering if I had forgotten to lock that door or this window.

Fauja Singh, 100-yr-old Marathoner says “Stay away from people who are negative”.

That is such an important thing. I have realized that the more I  am in the company of people  who are serial complainers complaining about  work, colleagues, family and life in general  –  it really gets me down. I complain too like everyone does from time to time but I do my best to keep it minimal but there are plenty of serial complainers   who rarely realize when to stop. I try to limit my time spent with them to a minimum. It’s a fine balance though because I am still learning to be blunt with people and telling them to get lost when I don’t want them around.

Fauja Singh, 100-yr-old Marathoner says, “Keep smiling.”

That’s one great tip ‘cos its one thing that really lifts people’s spirits and makes them forget all their troubles.  I try to do it as often as I can and I even smile at times when I don’t really feel like. So smile, smile, smile………..

Fauja Singh, 100-yr-old Marathoner says, “Keep running.”

I’ ve  yet to start on this one. I do walk but must try to advance it to running.

Published by

Chandani

.............

4 thoughts on “My take on a 100-yr-old Marathoner’s words of wisdom………..”

Leave a Reply

